The Dollar Rules

March 12, 2010

Up-selling is a fact of life.

The world revolves around the dollar, and all retailers want more of it. They are always in search of a new way to increase sales.

Again, a fact of life. The sooner we all accept it, the happier we will be.

So I can’t say that I’m that surprised when Target, various department stores, Starbucks, and credit card companies are all trying to entice me to “add on” to my order. Be it through a new credit card, an extra shot of espresso or identity theft coverage, respectively.

But what does surprise me is when they act as if I did not just say no.

Now, I have a strict no rudeness policy when I interact with service industry workers. I get it. I know how difficult customers can be. I sympathize. Therefore, I try to never stop smiling at them. And I always wear an apologetic look if I feel as if I’m bothering them or if the people with me are being a little hard to deal with. But if I have to say no four times to the same question, that smile begins to become a little ingenuine.

In addition, what has surprised me even more is the amount of sales pitches I’ve received from my new bank–which will remain nameless.

They’re a very nice bank. Nothing out of the ordinary regarding perks and such, but the tellers are very friendly. And considering that I appreciate friendliness (and they were offering a nice incentive), I opened an account.

However, I failed to realize that what came along with the friendliness was basically an on-going sales pitch. Everytime I go there I’m hearing about a new credit card, the new incentive program for referring a friend, the benefits of signing up for online bill pay. Things I never even thought that banks cared about, I’m being asked to do.

And so, because of that, I have become a close companion with online banking. No perky tellers who initiate pleasant conversations only to turn them into guilt-laced sales pitches.

Isn’t that horrible that we are now seeking out ways to avoid human interaction? Because no longer is it about being concerned with the daily well-being of another human but instead, it is about how to squander that person out of an extra dollar or an extra minute of their day.

One Response to “The Dollar Rules”

  1. rach said

    amen!!!

Leave a Reply

