Blogging?

February 7, 2009

So I just signed up for this blog. Not really sure how to use it . . . But I am a journalist. I have a four-year degree in it. I have worked for a newspaper, written feature stories, press releases, brochures and newsletters. Does that mean I can really call myself a Journalist?

I don’t feel like a journalist. I still get nervous before I sit down to write. I think, what am I gonna say THIS time? I have major doubts about my abilities. So what better reason to have a blog!, I say to myself. This way I am forced to continue growing in my writing. I gain practice and, therefore, experience. And I’ll have to be more careful about word usage, content, etc., than I would be if I were simply writing in my journal at home. Where no one can see it . . . no one can read it . . . no one can ju . . . d . . . g . e . . it . . . ? What the?! . . . maybe I didn’t think this through enough. I was rather quick on the uptake here. A friend of mine–and fellow journalist–mentioned the blog idea to me two days ago. She talked about how easy it was and how there’s so many web sites to choose from. So I found wordpress today, and I thought, why not?! Well, here goes nothin!

So how am I doin so far? Remember not to be too harsh please. I am a first-timer. And this post is quite short notice, I might remind you. My writing ideas have not yet had a chance to ferment and reach their full potential. But I’m slowly getting there. I can already feel the fibers in my brain start to work and strain, pulling on each other to extract the good and interesting thoughts that are floating inside my head like dust particles (insert much more intelligent word picture here).

Well, before I get too lost in my thoughts, I think I will bid my sole loyal reader adeiu (Bye Mom!), and leave you hankering for more. And to give my brain fibers more time to work. In the mean time, I will be watching the new chick flick He’s Just Not That Into You. Which promises to be a storyline both vapid and tired. Pretty people sauntering around pretending to be luckless in love but in the end always finding that perfect someone to live happily ever after with. I’m sure it will be box office gold.

Adeiu for now.

3 Responses to “Blogging?”

  1. Congratulations on starting a blog!
    I started my blog nearly two weeks ago and although I don’t really know what to write about or what my blog is about, that doesn’t matter too much.

    Hope you enjoy your blogging experience.
    🙂

  2. Thanks 🙂
    I was thinking along the same lines as you were until I realised that you can actually get a fair amount of traffic from the wordpress tag thing.

    http://en.wordpress.com/tags/

    Just having a quick look about it is easy to become shown on the list if you post on your blog with the right tags 🙂
    Anyway happy blogging.

  3. Justin said

    So let’s ignore that you don’t have the time to write a book…and just begin to write essays and short stories, then publish them and sign me a first edition copy. That’s all. Thanks. Bye.

Leave a Reply

